Spanish Repertoire for Black by Mihail Marin - $47.95

Welcome to a world-class chess repertoire for Black against 1.e4. As the title suggests, the repertoire is based on the respected Spanish Opening, or the Ruy Lopez, as it is sometimes called. In his previous book, Beating the Open Games, Grandmaster Mihail Marin dealt with White’s options up to 3.Bb5. Now Marin provides all the answers for Black after 4.Ba4. This depth of chess expertise has rarely been published for a mass audience before, as grandmasters usually prefer to keep their secrets. The complexity of the material could have been daunting, but Marin is also a master of explaining profound ideas to a wide audience.

Aron Nimzowitsch Chess Praxis - $44.95
new translation
by Aron Nimzowitsch

This is a completely new translation of Nimzowitsch's classic work, which will allow the reader to appreciate influential ideas in modern language.
Beautifully produced as all other Quality Chess books and with a short article by Jacob Aagaard and John Shaw with (computer-aided) improvements on Nimzowitsch' analysis.

A superb collection of Aron Nimzowitsch's best games annotaded by the great man himself, but it's even more than that. Nimzowitsch and his hypermodern ideas had a huge influence on modern chess thinking. Nimzowitsch first expounded his views in My System. In his follow-up Chess praxis he demonstrated and explained how his concepts worked in his own games.

Aron Nimzowitsch was one of the greatest chess players of the 1920s and 1930s, ranked just behind the famous World Champions Alekhine and Capablanca. His reputation as an author is higher still. 

True Lies in Chess by Lluis Comas Fabrego - $46.95

For Lluis Comas Fabrego chess is about more than just winning as many games as possible, it is a creative search for the truth. In True Lies in Chess Comas Fabrego takes on the challenging task of separating the truth from lies in chess literature. Guided by many practical examples and clear advice, the readers will learn how to reduce the complexity of chess towards the essential features of each position, and so improve their play.
The author argues that in modern chess the tendency to prefer concrete analysis to the written word is dangerous. Humans are incapable of finding the correct move by brute-force calculation like a computer. We must simplify the problem by focusing on the elements that our judgement tells us are most significant. Comas Fabrego shows how his creative approach has helped him find many novelties in the opening, particularly concentrating on the ¤a6-lines of the King’s Indian in which he is a renowned expert.

Lluis Comas Fabrego is a grandmaster and has twice been Spanish Champion. This is his first book for Quality Chess.

Back in Stock

My System by Aron Nimzowitsch - $44.95
Aron Nimzowitsch was one of the greatest chess players of the 1920s and
1930s, ranked just behind the famous World Champions Alekhine and Capablanca. His reputation as an author is higher still.
My System is at the top of a very short list of chess classics. Nimzowitsch’s
ideas have had a profound influence on modern chess thinking. Most chess
masters will at some point have studied Nimzowitsch’s work, and not to have read My System is by many regarded as a shocking gap in a chess player’s education.
The problem for an English-speaking audience has been that My System was written in German more than eighty years ago. The commonly-used
contemporary translations have sounded dated for some time, and were
always questionable: the translators frequently toned down many passages, fearing Nimzowitsch’s biting wit would be too controversial.
This edition uses a brand-new translation that recreates the author’s original intentions. 
For the first time an English-speaking audience can appreciate the true nature of a famous chess book.

San Luis 2005 by Alik Gershon & Igor Nor - $59.95
San Luis 2005 is the most celebrated chess tournament of the decade. 
Bulgarian Grandmaster Veselin Topalov triumphed and proved that he is a worthy successor to 
World Champions such as Bobby Fischer and Garry Kasparov. 
In this ambitious work Gershon and Nor analyse all the games from the tournament, 
but there is no danger of the reader drowning in masses of variations, 
as the authors clearly explain the ideas behind the moves. 
Tournament books used to be a familiar part of chess literature with Zurich 1953 a classic example, 
however such books are now rare because of the huge effort they demand from the authors. 
Gershon and Nor have risen to the challenge and produced a book that is destined to become a modern classic, 
a magnificent book worthy of an extraordinary tournament. 
Many colour photographs of the event and the surrounding Argentinean scenery help the reader feel what it was like to be at San Luis 2005.